Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Photo of Miao, Peihan

Peihan Miao

Asisstant Professor

Computer Science


Building & Room:

1136 SEO


851 S. Morgan St., MC 152, Chicago, IL 60607

Office Phone:

(312) 996-9210

Related Sites:


My research interests lie broadly in cryptography and security, including secure multiparty computation, applied cryptography, secure authentication, and blockchain.

I am looking for motivated students and postdocs. Please send me an email if you are interested in working with me.

Selected Grants

NSF, Collaborative Research: SaTC: CORE: Small: Expanding the Realm of Oblivious Transfer: New Tools for Cryptography, Principal Investigator

Selected Publications

Multi-Party Threshold Private Set Intersection with Sublinear Communication.
Saikrishna Badrinarayanan, Peihan Miao, Srinivasan Raghuraman, and Peter Rindal.
PKC 2021.

Private Set Intersection in the Internet Setting From Lightweight Oblivious PRF.
Melissa Chase, and Peihan Miao.
CRYPTO 2020.

Two-Sided Malicious Security for Private Intersection-Sum with Cardinality.
Peihan Miao, Sarvar Patel, Mariana Raykova, Karn Seth, and Moti Yung.
CRYPTO 2020.

Cut-and-Choose for Garbled RAM.
Peihan Miao.
CT-RSA 2020.

Secretary Markets with Local Information.
Ning Chen, Martin Hoefer, Marvin Künnemann, Chengyu Lin, and Peihan Miao.
Distributed Computing 2019.

PASTA: PASsword-based Threshold Authentication.
Shashank Agrawal, Peihan Miao, Payman Mohassel, and Pratyay Mukherjee.
CCS 2018.

Two-Round Multiparty Secure Computation Minimizing Public Key Operations.
Sanjam Garg, Peihan Miao, and Akshayaram Srinivasan.
CRYPTO 2018.

Obfuscation from Low Noise Multilinear Maps.
Nico Döttling, Sanjam Garg, Divya Gupta, Peihan Miao, and Pratyay Mukherjee.

Laconic Oblivious Transfer and its Applications.
Chongwon Cho, Nico Döttling, Sanjam Garg, Divya Gupta, Peihan Miao, and Antigoni Polychroniadou.
CRYPTO 2017.

Decentralized Anonymous Micropayments.
Alessandro Chiesa, Matthew Green, Jingcheng Liu, Peihan Miao, Ian Miers, and Pratyush Mishra.

Secure Multiparty RAM Computation in Constant Rounds.
Sanjam Garg, Divya Gupta, Peihan Miao, and Omkant Pandey.
TCC 2016-B.

Service to Community

Program Committees
2020: NeurIPS-PPML


Ph.D., Computer Science, UC Berkeley, 2019.